Getting things started.

I’ve always dreamed of becoming a writer.

Of course, writing should be easy. All you have to do is grab a piece of paper–it doesn’t have to be proper ruled paper either; I’ve heard of people writing on table napkins while waiting for their orders at some quiet bar–and whatever writing utensil you can find (a pen, pencil, quill, sword dripping with blood, a piece of charcoal) and you’re all set.

However, as most people would attest, that’s all easier said than done. Writing is something that takes time. It requires you to sit down and think. I think it has been said that writing is like worshiping a god that requires sacrifice–in this case, time, blood, and maybe even a little dignity.

I know what you’re thinking, faceless reader: “He’s just making excuses now. If he wanted to write, he would’ve done something sooner”. I agree, wholeheartedly. I should have done something sooner, if I really wanted to right. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t want to. Which is why I’m now staring at the unforgiving, blinking cursor that all word processors apparently come with.

Type. Type. Type. Backspace. Highlight. Delete. Type. Type. Stop. Think. Type. Backspace. Type. Type. Backspace.

This is my first post on this quasi-blog and I really don’t have much to say. But I can say this: I am a writer, sometimes. Other times, I am a dreamer. Or a couch potato who spends his days sitting in front of an idiot box, watching men in suits one-up each other in the world of corporate law or a thin man with a fez and a pointed chin brandish a sonic screwdriver like a mad man. Sometimes, I even go out and sit in a coffee shop just to observe other people–but that’s a story for another time.

Right now, what I should be doing is ending this particular post. But…how does one usually do that? Do they end with a quote from some famous but quite-dead personality? Do they leave behind advice, or a quip that they’re going to use for all their other articles? I don’t know how other people do it, but I’m not going to end my first post on a sad note. So this is what I say:

Hello, dear reader. Welcome to my world.

Leave a Reply

