The Perfect Girl: Unattainable or Not?

“People don’t fall in love with what’s right in front of them. People want the dream. What they can’t have. The more unattainable, the more attractive.”

This is a quote from Xander Harris, from the Buffy The Vampire Slayer series. Yes, I watch that show. It’s actually a pretty good show because each monster they face represents a problem that teenagers all over the world face, which I think is kinda cool. Also, a lot of now-famous actors had their start there, like David Boreanaz of Bones, Alyson Hannigan of How I Met Your Mother, and Carmine Giovinazzo of CSI:NY.

Anyway, in a season two episode called Some Assembly Required, Xander was feeling all bitter and insecure because he had this big crush on–and might have already been in love with–Buffy, but Buffy kept shooting him down because she likes the mysterious vampire with a soul, Angel. Of course, Buffy can’t really be with Angel, since Angel is dead and turns into a bloodthirsty monster when he loses control.

Also, in this episode, the “bad guys” were two high school kids who were chopping up girls and putting their parts back together in order to create what they think is the perfect woman. During a discussion of why the baddies were doing this, Xander unleashes the gold mine of a quote that was mentioned above.

This actually represents, quite accurately, the mindset of most people today. People want the unattainable. People thrive on the unattainable. Sometimes I even think that most people get excited by the idea that the person they’re pining for doesn’t even know they exist. This is a weird thing that I don’t actually understand, but that’s not to say that I’m not guilty of it.

For example, right now, I have this intense crush on Emilia Clarke. You know, that awesome girl who plays Daenerys Targaryen in the Game of Thrones series. Well, I don’t like her much while she has white hair and stuff, but I love her when she gets out of her costume and shows who she truly is. She’s awesome, I promise. Watch any of her interviews. She’s awesome.

Also, Emma Watson. Come on, who doesn’t have a crush on Emma Watson? If you’re one of the few weird guys who need therapy, watch this and I promise it will change your mind.

Anyway, what I want you to take away from this is that this is the human condition. We like something that we can’t get and that makes us excited. For example, if you spend time in any online community that’s populated mostly by guys, you’re going to notice that the “perfect girl” for these people, at the moment, is pretty, nice, and plays video games.

Hmm, come to think of it, I actually know a few girls who are pretty, nice, and plays video games. But most of them are actually tomboy-ish. Anyway, back to the point.

For most of the guys in these online communities, it’s hard to land someone pretty. Stereotypes suggest that pretty girls are popular girls, and popular girls don’t hang out with guys who spend time in online communities. Also–and no one’s going to admit this–but nice girls usually get friendzoned by these guys, even while they’re complaining about getting friendzoned by the popular girls. It’s a vicious cycle, I tell you.

I don’t play video games much, console or otherwise. Which is why I don’t really subscribe to the Nice-Pretty-Gamer trinity. I’m more of a “if she reads, she’s awesome” kinda thing.

Nice. Pretty. Reads a lot. That’s all I ask. And I’ve actually met a few girls who are like this, most prominently the girl I met a few days ago, the one I described in this post. I am telling you, she’s awesome. She’s pretty. She has awesome taste in clothes–rugged and sweet at the same time. And here’s the clincher: she’s read the same books that I have, plus a few books that I’ve been wanting to read for a long time. But, if you read the post I linked to up there, then you know that I messed up and I didn’t get to follow through.

Anyway, I’m hoping that girls who are really nice, really pretty, and have read the same books I do, aren’t that hard to find. Most girls read right? Or I can look for that girl again, the one I met in the coffee shop. But with my luck, I have a better chance of sprouting wings and flying to the top of the RCBC building than seeing that girl again. *sigh*

Someone told me once that if you go home with someone and you see no books at their place when you get in, do not sleep with them. That holds a lot of weight with me. Don’t you think?

One thought on “The Perfect Girl: Unattainable or Not?

  1. Pingback: Celebrating the Love Month: A Valentine’s Day Anthology | Coffee and Keystrokes

Leave a Reply

