An Open Letter From Me to Every Girl in the World

I write this letter not to make you laugh. I know that that’s a big departure from what this blog is about but I’m seeing a lot of female friends who are having problems in life (especially with the added pressures of Valentine’s Day hanging over their heads) and I feel that what I’m going to write next needs to be said. So here goes.

Girls, Ladies, Women,

Please don’t let a guy dictate how you dress, or how you view yourself. We are pigs, and even the most respectable man out there will sometimes have trouble forgetting that you are a beautiful woman, and not just a piece of meat.

I know what being in love feels like. That energy you get when you’re with him, it’s incomparable. But that doesn’t mean that you have to change yourself just to keep that feeling. I know that that feeling is lovely, and it’s perfect, but you shouldn’t trust it. Enjoy it, but keep in mind that you should love yourself before anything else. And if he tries to change you, then he’s not worth the time.

Take pride in knowing that you are unique, that you are strong. Know that you have self-worth, and you deserve to be treated as such. You are your own person, you are perfect. Do not change. Do not feel that you need to change for someone. Change because you want to, because you want to be better–not to please other people.

No man should pressure you into anything. And no person should make you feel less than worthy.

I’m sorry if I have ever been someone like this. I’m sorry if I’ve ever been that guy. I lost sight of what a real man is–giving his girl everything she deserves. And if I ever hurt you, I apologize. I know words will never be enough, but know that I am sorry.

I guess what I’m trying to say here boils down to one thing: it’s okay to say no. It’s okay to hold your purity close, it’s okay to stand up for yourself and speak up when you’re not okay with something. It’s okay to be you. And any guy who can’t or won’t respect that doesn’t deserve you.

So if any guy or girl out there has any questions, or if you just want to vent, I am here. I will keep your secrets, I will answer your questions. My friends will tell you that I am a good listener, especially if you just need someone to shut up and hear out your problems.

I may not have all the answers, but I will definitely be a friend. True friends are in short supply nowadays, but I am here, so talk to me.

Just remember, you are awesome. And I remain

Forever yours,

Patrick ~

One thought on “An Open Letter From Me to Every Girl in the World

Leave a Reply

