I Love You Even Though: The Man’s Perspective

This article is a continuation of this post. As I mentioned in that post I linked to,  I recently got requests from my friends to make ‘I love you even though…’ posts. It seemed like a lot of people wanted to show their partners that they love them despite the flaws, despite their shortcomings. As William Faulkner once said, “You don’t love because–you love despite; not for the virtues, but despite the faults.” And when you look at it that way, you’d realize that our differences are what makes relationships strong enough to weather storms. (Yes, I copy-pasted. Sue me.)

That last post was all about the woman’s view of things. Well, this one is gonna be looking through the man’s eyes, and I apologize in advance if this is far longer than the other. I am a man (more or less) and unlike that post where I had to think like a woman, I’m on familiar ground here. So let’s go.

  • I love you even though you chew your hair.
  • I love you even though you link every social network to every other social network.
  • I love you even though you take pictures in the bathroom.
  • I love you even though you move my things all the time and when I ask you where they are, you answer, “Where they belong.” So I’ve been putting them in the wrong place all these years?
  • I love you even though you like to “improve” my “imperfect” organization of my stuff. Seriously, guys don’t arrange DVDs alphabetically. Our system is more organic–great stuff at eye level, crappy stuff at the bottom.
  • I love you even though sometimes you overdress. We’re going to McDonald’s, not to a fancy restaurant.
  • I love you even though you take a long time to get ready.
  • I love you even though you take up 95% of the bathroom. I can’t even pronounce some of the stuff you have in there. And I never knew you can get products for that.
  • I love you even though you’ve covered the bed with millions of pillows and I don’t know where to sleep.
  • I love you even though sometimes I think you don’t trust me.
  • I love you even though you talk while watching a movie. And then you ask me what happened once you start tuning into the movie again.
  • I love you even though you have selectively perfect memory–you remember every fight we’ve had, everything I’ve done wrong, every time I came late, but you can’t seem to remember that time when you called my mother fat or when you “accidentally” destroyed my PS3.
  • I love you even though sometimes when you’re telling a story, you sort of go on tangents and side-stories until what should have been a five-minute update about the groceries is already an hour-long talk about why potatoes potate.
  • I love you even though you are hopeless when it comes to electronics.
  • I love you even though when you buy something mechanical, you’ll buy it because “it looks cute” and not because it can do what you need it to do.
  • I love you even though you open and read my mail.
  • I love you even though you come over to my place without calling me first.
  • I love you even though you’re a bit indecisive.
  • I love you even though sometimes you expect me to be able to read minds. How was I supposed to know that “I’m going to a doll show” is code for “I’m having family problems and I want you to cheer me up”? (Yes, it’s a That 70s Show reference.)
  • I love you even though you text me “Who are you hanging out with?” when I’m out and you’re not with me.
  • I love you even though sometimes you say, “We need to talk.” but you don’t mean we need to talk now and I’m left in utter agony as I worry about what we need to talk about.
  • I love you even though sometimes I don’t understand why it’s so hard to choose between “Ballet Slippers” pink and “Japanese Rose Garden” pink.
  • I love you even though sometimes you say “All boys are the same”. We’re not.
  • I love you even though sometimes you get mad when I don’t wanna go out because you assume I’m mad at you but in reality I’m just tired.
  • I love you even though sometimes you get mad at me when I disagree with you.
  • I love you even though there are times when you compare me to your exes.
  • I love you even though my dog likes you more than he likes me.
  • I love you even though sometimes you wear high heels and then lean on me all evening because you’re uncomfortable.
  • I love you even though you’ve basically filled up the entire calendar with relationship milestones, and you expect me to remember all of them. We have a hard enough time getting event dates right without being shouted at for not buying the dog a card to celebrate the anniversary of his first vaccination.
  • I love you even though you always ask me “What are you thinking?” and I have to answer just right or you’ll get mad.
  • I love you even though you say “I’m fine” even though you’re unhappy.
  • I love you even though you think the lawn has to be mowed twice as much as I think.
  • I love you even though you bring up fights from ages ago, out of nowhere.
  • I love you even though you get irrationally jealous over female friends. A little bit is understandable, but let’s be adults.
  • I love you even though you think I care if our towels match or not.
  • I love you even though you burst into tears whenever you think you’ve lost the upper hand during a fight.
  • I love you even though you gave me a letter listing my supposed sins. Eighteen pages, front and back! (That one is a FRIENDS reference.)
  • I love you even though you talk about everything with your girlfriends, including our sex life.
  • I love you even though you can be really controlling at times.
  • I love you even though you always try to look for hidden meaning in what I say. Men are simple animals, we don’t do hidden meanings.

Hmm. I’m not sure at what point this changed from an “I love you even though…” post to a laundry list of the little things that annoy men about women. But isn’t that the same thing? Sure, these little things annoy us when we’re in a relationship, but the fact that these things are present and we’re still together should be a big-enough sign that we’re willing to stick with you through whatever. So what say you?

Leave a Reply

