I Love You Even Though: The Woman’s Perspective

Falling in love with someone isn’t always going to be easy… Anger… tears… laughter.. It’s when you want to be together despite it all. That’s when you truly love another. I’m sure of it.

-Helen Rowland

As I’ve mentioned on my Twitter and Facebook, I recently got requests from my friends to make ‘I love you even though…’ posts. It seemed like a lot of people wanted to show their partners that they love them despite the flaws, despite their shortcomings. As William Faulkner once said, “You don’t love because–you love despite; not for the virtues, but despite the faults.” And when you look at it that way, you’d realize that our differences are what makes relationships strong enough to weather storms.

This post then is the woman’s perspective of things–how she sees her man, and what faults she can identify, faults that she chooses to ignore because she loves him despite all that. I’ve included suggestions from all the lovely people on Facebook and Twitter, too–not all mind you, since some are crap or not in line with the theme, but there are a few.

  • I love you even though you don’t understand the financial and emotional disparity between ‘Coach’ being printed on a handbag and ‘Coach’ being printed on an airline ticket.
  • I love you even though you think it’s okay to burp, fart, or spit anywhere. It’s not.
  • I love you even though you think it’s an achievement that you can fire some wicked snot rockets.
  • I love you even though you consider air guitar a real instrument.
  • I love you even though you can effortlessly organize a fantasy football draft involving twelve guys, six cases of beer, eight pizzas, and five orders of Buffalo wings, but forget to make dinner reservations for our anniversary.
  • I love you even though you consider camouflage a color.
  • I love you even though I can see you check out other girls when we’re out. And no, wearing sunglasses won’t help. I just know.
  • I love you even though you look like you just fell out of a dryer every time we go out.
  • I love you even though you declare that your GI Joes or Stormtrooper action figures are not dolls, but rather icons embodying man’s primal need for social order and homeland security.
  • I love you even though you watch My Little Pony.
  • I love you even though you adjust your private parts all the damn time.
  • I love you even though you name the little soldier in your pants.
  • I love you even though you suck at carrying romantic late-night texts. Texting ‘OK’ is not okay, okay?
  • I love you even though you automatically assume that I’m upset because I’m on my period, not because you messed up.
  • I love you even though you regard pizza, beer, hot dogs, and Cool Ranch doritos as representative of the major food groups.
  • I love you even though you can recite entire scenes from The Godfather but always forget at least three items on the grocery list.
  • I love you even though you think you look like you’re listening but you’re actually looking at my breasts. I’m not blind.
  • I love you even though you leave behind a long trail of crap every time you do something, like a storyboard or Hansel and Gretel’s breadcrumbs.
  • I love you even though you don’t clean up the sink after shaving.
  • I love you even though sometimes I think you’re gay.
  • I love you even though you didn’t notice when I got a haircut, or when I wore that really cute dress.
  • I love you even though you get mad when I beat you at a video game.
  • I love you even though sometimes you make it seem like your PS3 is more important.
  • I love you even though you can’t go a week without making plans with the boys, even though you haven’t taken me out in a long time.
  • I love you even though your snores bring to mind a wounded rhinoceros groaning into a megaphone.
  • I love you even though you read on the toilet and get mad when disturbed.
  • I love you even though your beard makes me feel like I’m making out with a carpet.
  • I love you even though you think that you have to solve every problem. Sometimes all you need to do is listen.
  • I love you even though you’ve virtually declared the basement and the garage your ‘man space’.
  • I love you even though you always scratch your balls.
  • I love you even though you fall asleep after having sex.
  • I love you even though sometimes you don’t return the favor, if you know what I mean.
  • I love you even though you don’t flush after you pee.
  • I love you even though you treat the sink like a garbage bin and just chuck all your trash into it and hope someone cleans it up.
  • I love you even though you automatically freak out and assume I’m pregnant every time my period is late (I’m irregular) or when I’m feeling under the weather (I get sick sometimes, deal with it).
  • I love you even though sometimes you unnecessarily bring up your exes.
  • I love you even though sometimes you tell me to calm down and its not a big deal.
  • I love you even though you consider hunting wild game an adventure, but answering the question, “Does this make my butt look big?” is just too risky.
  • I love you even though you turn into a complete baby when you’re sick. Honey, that man flu is just a cold. Buck up.
  • I love you even though you spend like half of your monthly paycheck on gadgets you don’t really need.
  • I love you even though your idea of home remodeling is installing speakers all over the house.
  • I love you even though sometimes I find you on the couch with a week-old beard popping cheese balls while in a ratty bathrobe watching TV.
  • I love you even though I think you have the ability to turn your brain off at will.
  • I love you even though sometimes you can’t control your urges and just pounce on me like some predator. Don’t get me wrong, I love that. But sometimes I’m not in the mood.
  • I love you even though you just can’t remember to put the toilet seat down.

And, finally…

  • I love you even though you sometimes don’t get me or sometimes I don’t get you. I love you despite all the flaws and the imperfections. I love you, and that’s what matters.
6 thoughts on “I Love You Even Though: The Woman’s Perspective

  1. Pingback: I Love You Even Though: The Man’s Perspective | Coffee and Keystrokes

  2. Oh my god. Just now I remembered, I once loved a guy whose favorite movie is Princess Bride. Unimaginable but adorable :))

  3. Pingback: Love Me, Please | smiledummy

Leave a Reply

